Edit Location

Automatically find my location
Make this my default location


James McBride wins National Book Award

James McBride has the won the National Book Award for fiction for his novel "The Good Lord Bird."

George Packer's "The Unwinding" won for nonfiction during a dinner ceremony Wednesday night at Cipriani (SIP'-ree-ah-nee) Wall Street in downtown Manhattan. Cynthia Kadohata's "The Thing About Luck" won for young people's literature and Mary Szybist's (SHE'-Biss) "Incardine" for poetry.

Winners, chosen by five member panels of writers, booksellers and others from the publishing community, each received $10,000. Honorary medals were presented to Maya Angelou and E.L. Doctorow.


Search Results Powered by