Edit Location

Automatically find my location
Make this my default location

TOP HEADLINES

Nobel physics prize announcement delayed

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has delayed the announcement of this year's Nobel Prize in physics by at least an hour.

That's an unusually long delay by the prize committee, which typically announces its decision right on time or just a few minutes later.

The academy said on Twitter that "The Academy is still in session," but didn't give further details. The members of the academy's physics committee pick the winners in a majority vote on the day of the announcement.

It was supposed to reveal the winners at 11:45 a.m. (0945 GMT; 5:45 a.m. EDT) but delayed the announcement several times, saying it would take place no earlier than 12:45 p.m. (1045 GMT; 6:45 a.m. EDT).

AdChoices

 
Search Results Powered by