More Travel Videos
Earn Tokens

Summer travel: Which countries in Europe have opened their borders?

Provided By - Video Elephant on July 13, 2020
Across Europe, governments have started to open their borders after weeks of closure during the coronavirus pandemic. With the summer holiday season upon us, people have started to wonder whether they will be able to get away for a break abroad - and how far they will be able to go. The border situation remains a mixed picture across Europe, with each country imposing its own rules and its own timetable for re-opening. The EU has recommended the bloc opens its external borders from July 1 to 15 countries. These are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China (although China is subject to confirmation of reciprocity). Member states are not, however, legally obliged, to follow the recommendation. The list is to be updated every two weeks, the EU says. Given the pace of change, Euronews has compiled a handy guide to the situation in each European country. Albania Commercial flights resumed in Albania on June 15. All EU nationals and residents are eligible to enter Albania at the moment. The country can be reached with flights from Germany, Italy, the UK, Serbia, Austria, Greece and Turkey. Passengers at all terminals are expected to pass through a "disinfection tunnel" and undergo "body temperature measurement". Anyone with body temperature higher than 37.5°C "shall be interviewed by the company doctor". Austria Austria first opened its land borders with Germany, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary and the Czech Republic on June 4. The country reopened its border with Italy from June 16, but a travel warning was issued for the region of Lombardy. There are no restrictions with most European Union countries except for travellers from the UK, Sweden, and Portugal who must still present a medical certificate or self-isolate. Due to a high number of cases, travellers from the Gütersloh district in Germany will need a negative COVID-19 test (administered in the last 48 hours) to travel to Austria. Entry by air is prohibited to citizens coming from countries outside the Schengen Area. Find out more here . Belgium Borders with the European Union as well as the UK and the four other Schengen countries (Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Iceland and Norway) have reopened. There is no quarantine or health certificate condition. Non-essential travel to and from outside the EU and Schengen countries remains prohibited until July 1. Bosnia and Herzegovina The border is only currently open to citizens of neighbouring Croatia, Montenegro and Serbia - other foreign arrivals are not permitted. There are some exceptions, including freight drivers, residents and diplomats. Bulgaria Bulgaria opened its borders on June 1 to EU countries, the UK, San Marino, Andorra, Monaco, Vatican, Serbia and North Macedonia citizens, as well as to medical workers and family members of Bulgarian citizens, as listed on the government website. Travellers from Bosnia and Herzegovina and Montenegro are also allowed. But some exemptions remain. Tourists from Belgium, Portugal, Sweden, and the UK must self-isolate for 14 days. Tourists from the other countries must meanwhile submit a declaration acknowledging the have been informed of the country's anti-epidemic measures and with risks associated with COVID-19 to health inspector at the border. Croatia Croatia has reimposed quarantine for travellers from North Macedonia, Serbia, Kosovo and Bosnia on June 25 following a new coronavirus outbreak in the region. Borders remain open to EU and UK citizens, with no obligation of quarantine. The country began opening its borders in mid-May without restriction to nationals from the Czech Republic, Hungary, Austria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovenia, Germany and Slovakia. Cyprus Cyprus resumed tourist travel on June 9 after closing its borders for almost three months. The country will also cover health costs in case of coronavirus contamination occurring on the Mediterranean island. Authorities have created two lists of countries. Travellers from Category A countries — Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Switzerland — face no restrictions. Those from Category B nations — Israel, Poland, and Romania —must present a health certificate no older than three days. Travel from other EU countries not included in the lists is only allowed in exceptional cases and requires government approval. These include the country’s two main tourism markets, Britain and Russia. However, flights from Britain could restart in mid-July, and a few weeks later from Russia. Citizens of the US, France, Spain, and Italy remain excluded until further notice. Entries from countries outside the EU/EEA/Schengen are for now not allowed. Czech Republic



Home & Garden



$5K  Bonus Games 
  • 1 Search
  • 2 Enjoy
  • 3 Enjoy
  • 4 Enjoy
  • 5 Enjoy
Make sure you're logged in, complete each step and you'll unlock your shot at a fortune!
  • Search Now!1

    Step 1: Search the web to get info you need and go for a PCH SUPERPRIZE!

  • See what's new!2 3 4 5

    Steps 2-5: Get the news, entertainment, horoscopes, lottery results & more! CLAIM TOKENS!

  • Go for $5,000.00 instantly!

    Completing steps 1-5 automatically unlocks your shot at the BIG $5,000.00 INSTANT WIN BONUS GAMES.